Is Valor Mortis on PS Plus? 90-Minute Trial Explained

Is Valor Mortis on PS Plus? 90-minute Premium trial at launch explained: what carries over and what not.

Last Updated: 2026-10-10

Valor Mortis PlayStation Plus Premium: 90-Minute Trial Explained

No, Valor Mortis is not joining the PS Plus game library for free. What PS Plus Premium members get at launch is a 90-minute timed trial, confirmed by the developers on the official Valor Mortis X account and reported by Polygon, Gamereactor, and others. Trial progress is reported to carry over if you later buy the full game, though the final wording is still pending launch-day confirmation. As of 2026-10-10, the game is three days from its store-listed release date of October 13, 2026, so everything below reflects pre-release information confirmed so far.

William aiming a revolver across a corpse-strewn battlefield trench with ammo counter HUD
William aiming a revolver across a corpse-strewn battlefield trench with ammo counter HUD

Is Valor Mortis Free on PS Plus?

No. This is the most misunderstood point about the launch: Valor Mortis is not a day-one PS Plus free game. It is a timed Game Trial, which expires when the clock runs out — unlike a Monthly Game, which stays playable while you subscribe.

The confusion is understandable. Search interest in this question spiked hard enough to register as a breakout trend, and some early coverage muddied the water — one widely shared article told readers subscribers would get full access without paying extra, contradicting the 90-minute limit the developers announced. The correct reading, backed by the official X post ("Valor Mortis will be in XBOX Game Pass and we'll have a 90 min PlayStation Plus Trial!") and consistent reporting from Polygon, Gamereactor, and Instant Gaming, is a 90-minute trial for Premium members.

Trial, not a library title

Do not cancel a planned purchase assuming the full game is included with your subscription. The trial ends after 90 minutes; the $39.99 Standard Edition is a separate purchase.

Official source: Valor Mortis on Steam lists the October 13, 2026 release date, with One More Level as developer and Lyrical Games plus One More Level as publishers.

For background on the game itself — a first-person soulslike from the studio behind Ghostrunner — see Valor Mortis Guide: Release Date, Platforms & What It Is.

Trial vs Full Game: What You Actually Get

90-minute Premium trial Full game ($39.99)
Access type Timed Game Trial for PS Plus Premium members Buy once, own it outright
Play time 90 minutes from launch Unlimited (about a 20-hour campaign, per the official announcement)
Content gate Whatever you can reach in 90 minutes Full campaign, all systems
Progress Reported to carry over on purchase (pending launch confirmation) Everything kept
Platforms PS5, through the PlayStation Store PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC (Steam)

Note the Xbox contrast: Valor Mortis launches day one on Xbox Game Pass with full access, while PlayStation players get the timed trial. The full comparison lives in Is Valor Mortis on Game Pass Day One? Answered.

Which PS Plus Tier Do You Need?

Every outlet that names a tier names Premium. Instant Gaming specifies that PlayStation Plus Premium subscribers get the 90-minute trial, and all trial coverage frames it as a Premium Game Trial. No source reports it for Essential or Extra members.

Tier Gets the Valor Mortis trial?
Essential Not reported — treat as no, unless Sony says otherwise at launch
Extra Not reported — treat as no, unless Sony says otherwise at launch
Premium Yes — 90-minute timed trial, confirmed by the developers

This matches how Sony structures the program: timed Game Trials are a Premium-tier benefit. Via Twisted Voxel's console performance report, the trial is planned for launch day alongside the October 13 release, though the exact hour the trial tile appears has not been published. Full unlock timing is covered in Valor Mortis Release Date & Unlock Times.

Does Trial Progress Carry Over to the Full Game?

Reported yes — with one qualifier. Polygon reports that trial progression will be saved and carried over if players later acquire the full game, and independent coverage agrees. As of 2026-10-10, though, this comes from pre-release reporting rather than the live store listing, so treat the exact mechanics as pending final launch-day confirmation.

To be safe: buy on the same PSN account and region you used for the trial, and keep Premium active until you have confirmed the save loads in the full game. Sony documents the general process in its save transfer support page for moving saves between streamed and downloaded games.

Safest carry-over path

Finish your 90 minutes, buy the full game on the same account, then check your progress loaded before deleting anything. Whether trial trophies pop retroactively is unconfirmed — that detail is never published before launch.

For what is known about the trophy set, see Valor Mortis Trophy List: All 39 Trophies & Roadmap, which notes the third-party-disclosed 39-trophy list.

How to Start the Trial on Launch Day

The trial has not gone live yet, so the exact store button label is unconfirmed. Based on how Premium trials normally appear, expect this flow on October 13:

  1. Confirm your PS Plus Premium subscription is active.
  2. Open the PlayStation Store on PS5 and search for Valor Mortis.
  3. Pick the trial or timed-download option alongside the $39.99 purchase option.
  4. Download and play — the 90-minute window covers your time in the game.

Pre-download the client before starting the clock so none of your 90 minutes goes to a progress bar. And note the old Steam demo is offline as of 2026-10-10 — it cannot substitute for the trial. A recap of what it contained is in Valor Mortis Demo Guide: Download, Content & Length.

Trial vs Game Pass: Which Free Option Is Better?

On paper there is no contest: Game Pass members get the entire game at launch, while PS Plus Premium members get 90 minutes. Twisted Voxel puts it in one line — available on Xbox Game Pass on launch day, with a trial planned for PlayStation Plus.

Still, 90 minutes is enough to clear the opening, feel the parry-and-posture combat loop, and decide whether the reported uneven demo difficulty bothers you before spending $39.99. For the buy-now versus wait cases, see Should You Buy Valor Mortis at Launch?, and for Standard versus Deluxe (including the no-digital-pre-order policy), see Valor Mortis Price & Editions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Valor Mortis on PS Plus? Not as a free library game. PS Plus Premium members get a 90-minute timed trial at launch; the full game on PlayStation costs $39.99.

Is the trial on Essential or Extra? No source reports that. Every tier-specific report names Premium only.

Does trial progress carry over? Reported yes — progression saves and carries over on purchase — but final store wording is pending launch-day confirmation. Buy on the same account and region.

When does the trial go live? Planned for launch day, October 13, 2026. The exact store hour is unpublished.

Is Valor Mortis on Xbox Game Pass instead? Yes — full day-one access on Game Pass. Details: Is Valor Mortis on Game Pass Day One? Answered.

Is it spelled valormortis, valor mortis, valar mortis, or vigor mortis? The game is Valor Mortis (also written valormortis). Valar mortis and vigor mortis are unrelated phrases.

Can I still play the old demo instead? No — the limited-time Steam demo is offline as of 2026-10-10. More answers: Valor Mortis FAQ: Trial, Game Pass, Difficulty & More.

More Valor Mortis Guides